Creating a dungeon with a 5 year old.

18 Sep

Ok this was the case last Saturday evening I had just started to pack up my Dungeons and Dragons paraphernalia when my step son Josh asked if we could make a dungeon together. Throughout that morning he had been flicking through my monster manual desperately searching for zombie pirates (his favourite type of monster). After much nagging on his part I decided to introduce him to the world of Dungeons and Dragons.

As Josh fired suggestion after suggestion of what he thought a dungeon would contain I made a list of them at the end of it we had quite a menagerie of creatures and traps ranging from Pits and snakes to the dreaded Tarrasque obviously giving my players low-level statuses I declined from using the Tarrasque.

As I made a rough encounter deck using the template in the 4th edition Dungeon Master’s guide it occurred to me the myriad of creatures present on Josh’s list were perfect for a random dungeon a tool I had been dying to but could never find an appropriate use for, yes I admit it sounds vaguely backwards appropriate and random following each other in a sentence.

As I read through the random dungeon chapter in the DMG I decided to allow Josh to do the dice rolls after all it was his baby, as he grabbed the D20 and rolled I started to draw the map on the graph paper and after 10 rooms we stopped. We had the ‘bones’ of the dungeon,  as I looked at on the paper it was a twisting, turning mixture of corridors, stairs leading to doors behind doors with irregular chambers full of nasty’s perfect for my adventuring group to raid.

I won’t go into details of the inhabitants in the random dungeon, just mainly focusing on Josh’s enjoyment and enthusiasm on building a series of challenging encounters for the group there was of course just one last request from Josh, “Can I be there please when you play it Danny?”.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Response to “Creating a dungeon with a 5 year old.”

  1. vobeskhan September 18, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Not sure if I should look forward to the next gaming session or not lol!

    Good way of getting the kids involved, as you know I have my own personal cartographer (Sophie loves drawing the maps out for me – though she prefers the dungeon based ones to wilderness) I have an impressive array for when you guys finally investigate Thunderspire in the Loudwater campaign 😉

Your Thoughts:

