Involving children in Dungeons and Dragons

4 Aug

My step daughter Caitlyn has some very similar interests to me we both like lord of the rings etc. A copy of the monster manual from 4th edition piqued her interest one day when she asked me what it was identifying a dragonlike creature within the book only compounded her interest as we looked through various monsters from the Kobold to the Lamia whilst I explained what each monster did to her as simply as I could.

I know some people will probably say that teaching a three year old how to play a game that was developed primarily for teenagers is slightly irresponsible however my argument against this is “Children who play Dungeons and Dragons are more likely to have a larger vocabulary and logical mind then those that don’t. I do not know if this has been scientifically proven but lots of celebrities including Vin Diesel and Mike Meyers have played at some part of  their lives or another.

I hope that when my children are older they will want to help me with possible campaigns and storylines for the group or become players in their own right.

4 Responses to “Involving children in Dungeons and Dragons”

  1. Doc Halloween August 23, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Starting Caitlyn on a positive learning road, I see. D&D and just about all role-playing games have lots to teach. I hope more people see past the stereotypes and misinformation like you did.

    Just a note here but there are simpler RPG systems out there to start younger children with.

    Just to name a few:
    “Risus” http://risus.cumberlandgames.com/
    “The Zorcerer of Zo” http://www.atomicsockmonkey.com/products/zoz.asp
    “FU: Free, Universal Roleplaying Game” http://perilplanet.com/fu/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dungeons & Dragons Rant « Doc Halloween Presents - August 23, 2011

    […] Involving children in Dungeons and Dragons (dnddad.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookPrintEmailDiggStumbleUponRedditLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. My wonderful children « DnD Dad - August 23, 2011

    […] Involving children in Dungeons and Dragons (dnddad.wordpress.com) Rate this: Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailRedditStumbleUponLinkedInDiggPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  3. Lack of Hobby/Gaming Stores in Leicester. « DnD Dad - September 13, 2011

    […] one of my earlier posts involving children in Dungeons and Dragons there are many benefits to these games maths, english and social interaction are just some of […]

Your Thoughts:

